Priests of God are most often associated with the Catholic religion. That tradition has specific qualifications to become a priest. “Catholic men who have been baptized, have undertaken their confirmation, and are practicing members of their local Parish for at least 2 straight years, can be admitted to a seminary to study and become a priest. After completing their studies at the seminary, and serving as a Deacon for a period of 6 months to a year, unmarried males between the ages of 25 and 63 can be ordained as a priest.”

Of course, Catholicism is not alone in their special ordination of a priesthood. Other Christian denominations (e.g. Episcopalian, Latter Day Saints), as well as other religions (e.g. Hinduism, Taoism), delineate special “priests to God.”

How Scripture answers "Who are the priests of God?"

The priests of God are all those that follow Jesus Christ1,2,4,7, the ultimate High Priest3. Priests (or Saints6) of God can be anyone4,5,7, but only those that have “put on Christ” in baptism5. This is especially poinent given David’s psalm speaking of saints “clothed with righteousness”6.

Answer built on scripture-blocks below

Leave your comment below…

…and if you’re wondering more about what we’re doing and why, here are some links we hope can help explain it (and maybe even get you excited about contributing):

what do you think?

related to 'Who are the priests of God?'

lend your own study to the discussion

PUBLIC COMMENT POLICY: While your email is required, it will not be posted publically.
All comments are vetted for potential spam before being published, but will not be restricted otherwise.